/ POSTS

How To Delete A Board In Jira

Teams that work in Jira rely on boards to simplify project workflows and improve the way each project is managed. While it’s important that you know how to set up and manage boards, it’s equally important to know how to delete a board in Jira.

If you have completed all of the issues or tasks in a board, or if you transfer your workflow to a different board, then you will want to clear up the old board. Because boards are linked to project tasks, it’s okay to delete them even if the project is still under development.

In this guide, we’ll cover exactly how to delete a board in Jira. These methods apply to any kind of Jira board.

What Is A Jira Board?

A board is a representation of tasks or issues from one or more projects in Jira. Boards display an intuitive representation of a project to make it easier to view and manage any work in progress. Each board has a filter configuration that determines what the board displays.

Any type of project in Jira can have one or multiple boards. Anyone working on a project can use these boards.

When you create a board in Jira, it can display up to 5000 issues at a time.

In Jira, there are three different types of boards that you can create. These are:

  • Team-managed boards: These boards are designed for teams working in agile. This is a straightforward type of board with a simplified setup. If you are new to Jira and working with boards, then this type of board is probably the best approach to take.
  • Kanban board: A Kanban board is for teams that constrain and manage their work in progress. These boards can include a Kanban backlog.
  • Scrum board: Scrum boards are for teams that work in sprints. These boards use a backlog of issues and they bring teams together to focus on a single main goal.

The type of board that you use will depend on the way that your team works and manages tasks.

Why Are Boards Important In Jira?

Boards offer a way to manage projects and issues in an even more organized way. Instead of just relying on a project that lists a large number of tasks, boards provide more flexible insights into how the tasks are coming along.

Boards are generally broken up into four main categories. These are:

  • To-do tasks
  • Tasks in progress
  • Tasks in review
  • Completed tasks

By using a board, the whole team can easily stay up to date with how each project is shaping up and what other team members are working on. This improves collaboration and communication, and it makes it easier to understand what tasks require focus. Basically, boards turn siloed work into a cohesive workflow.

When you set up a board, there are different types of boards that you can use (as mentioned above). These boards have unique setup requirements to match the kind of work your team is doing.

How To Delete A Board In Jira

It’s important that you know how to delete a board in Jira to help your work stay more organized. There are two different ways that you can do this. You can either delete a board from the homepage or from the project dashboard in Jira. Only admins in Jira are able to delete boards.

When you delete a board, it will not delete the sprint cycles or issues in that board. This is because the issues are linked to a project.

If you want to delete the issues completely, then you will have to close or delete the project they are linked to.

How To Delete A Board In Jira From The Home Page

Follow these steps to delete a board in Jira from the home page:

Step 1: Select the Your Work button at the top of the home page

Jira Software screenshot showing button selection

Step 2: Navigate to Boards and then click on View All Boards

Jira Software screenshot showing View All Boards

Step 3: Now you will see a list of all your active boards. Scroll to the board that you want to delete and select the three dots button (…) to reveal more options

Jira Software screenshot showing the board selection

Step 4: A dropdown menu will appear. Select Delete

Jira Software screenshot showing Delete button on dropdown

Step 5: Now a popup will appear with a warning message about deleting the board. Click on the Delete button

Jira Software screenshot showing the Confirm Deletion message

Step 6: The board has now been deleted from Jira. You will see a notification display at the bottom of the screen confirming that the board has been deleted

How To Delete A Board In Jira From The Project Dashboard

Follow these steps to delete a board in Jira from the project dashboard:

Step 1: Open the project you’re working on and select the Board button. You can find this in the navigation pane on the left side of the screen

Jira Software screenshot showing the Board button

Step 2: A dropdown list will appear. Click on View All Boards

Jira Software screenshot showing View All Boards button

Step 3: Now you will see a list of all your boards. Scroll to the board that you want to delete. Then select the three dots button (…) to reveal a menu with more options

Jira Software screenshot showing the list of boards element

Step 4: Select Delete from the dropdown menu

Jira Software screenshot showing the Delete button

Step 5: Now you’ll see a popup with a warning message about deleting the board. Click on the Delete button

Jira Software screenshot showing the Confirm Deletion message

Step 6: The board has now been deleted from Jira. You will get a notification at the bottom of the screen to confirm that you have deleted the board

Conclusion

Knowing how to delete a board in Jira is a pretty straightforward task, but it’s important to know in order to streamline your workflows.

Deleting boards in Jira is done in a different place than creating and configuring boards, so it’s a task that could confuse many users.

Deleting boards won’t delete the project or the tasks. Instead, boards are just a way to visualize work in progress. Once your team completes the board, you can delete it, however, the tasks will still remain active.

Want to create a free retrospective with your team?

Create a Free Retrospective